1/1/17 – Hello, World!

Hi, my name is Brian and I’m 33 (almost 34). I’m married, have two daughters (8 & 10), have a great management job, a house, and I’ve got my health. I lead a happy life and am grateful for everything I have. Last year I published a book. This year, I’m going to get my bachelor’s degree, which I plan to chronicle in this blog.

dsc_0299_small

I graduated high school in Pennsylvania in 2001 and went to a private University for mechanical engineering. I took way too many credit hours and didn’t have much discipline at the time, so I quickly dropped out. I planned to continue my studies at the local community college and transfer back into a 4 year program later on.

Once I got home, I started working as a mechanic and enjoyed what I was doing. I got married and moved to North Carolina in 2005 and had my first daughter in 2006. My career has progressed quickly from technician to service advisor to service manager at a new car dealership. I always wanted to go back to school but “never got around to it.”

Over the years, I wasn’t able to apply for some jobs because I didn’t have a bachelor’s degree. Also, I’ve wanted to pursue an MBA for some time now, which is next to impossible without an undergraduate degree.

I was searching on the internet and came across a few sites like bain4weeks.com and degreeforum.net, and realized you didn’t need to get into tens of thousands of dollars in debt, take time off from work, or even physically sit in a classroom to earn a bachelor’s degree from a regionally-accredited college or university.

Everybody’s situation is different, so this will not be a one-size-fits-all plan for everyone. My plan is to post daily for an entire year (maybe less?) until I’ve earned my bachelor’s degree. I hope my story helps you in some way to earn your degree or help someone you know to earn theirs.

I hope you follow along and feel free to comment or ask questions. I’m happy to help. If you’ve read this far, thank you and welcome to my one year bachelor’s degree blog.

 

Leave a Reply

